Sale Ancient HERMITAGE used as a Charming House, with Pool seaview - Ugento

Ancient HERMITAGE used as a Charming House, with Pool seaview

Madonna del Casale
foto immobile Antico EREMO adibito a Dimora di Charme, con piscina vista mare n. 9

Quick Summary

Cod. 319
City:
Ugento
Location:
Torre S. Giovanni
Price:
Private Negotiation
Conditions:
New
House Area:
500 m2
Garden Area:
3.000 m2
Rooms:
15
Bedrooms:
6
Beds:
12
Baths:
8
Energy Class:
da cl

Share This Property

Condividi su Facebook Condividi su Twitter Condividi su LinkedIn Condividi tramite Email Pinterest Condividi su ok.ru
https://www.damicoimmobiliare.it:443/en/immobili/319/ugento/Vendita-antico-eremo-adibito-a-dimora-di-charme-con-piscina-vista-mare/

Accessories

Wi-Fi Wi-Fi
Barbecue Barbecue
Irrigation Irrigation
Hydromassage Hydromassage
Alarm Alarm
Sea View Sea View
Swimming Pool Swimming Pool
Terrace Terrace
Furniture Furniture
Air Conditioning Air Conditioning
Private Heating Private Heating
Garage Garage
Garden Garden

Description

TORRE SAN GIOVANNI 
Marina di Ugento

EREMO used as a charming residence, sea view, with swimming pool.


Puglia, Salento, EREMO dating back to the XII century is today a Charming Residence obtained from a careful restoration of an ancient Convent, at 100 meters above sea level, in the green of centuries-old olive trees, and surrounded by the Mediterranean scrub, today protected by the Natural Park, established by the Municipality, to protect this unique and typical landscape of Salento. Positioned on the hill, it dominates the beaches of Torre San Giovanni. The place conveys charm and charisma at the same time, a place of silence and meditation, this has become a place of maximum expression for those seeking peace of mind and inner regeneration.
The property enjoys a wonderful view of the surrounding countryside, as far as the eye can see and the Ionian coast of Salento, with its 12 km of sandy beach and its crystal clear sea.
Between countryside and sea, just 5 minutes from Torre San Giovanni and a short distance from the main tourist destinations in Salento.
The Dimora is composed of an ancient church, with frescoes of significant historical and religious importance, kept by the Franciscan monks, like the entire hermitage until a few years ago, then transferred. The church today is subject to continuous restoration, thanks to the Superintendency, and open to the public on public holidays where Holy Mass is celebrated.
The rest of the Convent has been converted into a Charming Residence, obtaining 6 Suites with Bathroom, a Kitchen and various services, Swimming pool, two gardens (for a total extension of 3,000 sqm) with internal and external courtyards, but well hidden from view prying, where there is a wonderful garden with centuries-old plants and with a wonderful sea view.


ITS HISTORY OVER THE CENTURIES:
The ancient Convent of the Casale welcomes you with its centuries-old history. It was born one hundred meters above sea level with the Byzantine rite church delicately frescoed dating back to the XII century. It was subsequently led by Basilian monks until it became a commenda of the curia of Gallipoli and then passed from hand to hand until the last commendatory, a noble prelate named Carlo ab al Altan, in 1735 whose coat of arms is still present on the wall of the church itself. Around the 16th century around, after the invasions of the Saracens in Otranto, it was decided that watch towers would be erected to protect the coasts. This is how the already existing tower was fortified, adjacent to the Church of the Casale, now an integral part of the Residence. The structure will still know centuries of alternate management until 1870 when the Church of Rome after the "breach of Porta Pia" ceded the temporal power and then its assets passed into the hands of the Italian State which decided to sell the properties by auction. So it was that in 1889 Baron Adolfo Colosso bought the Church for 6,500 Lire at the time in order to annex it to the property that surrounded it and already as a dowry to the Colosso barons from the early 1700s. Then passed on to his son Massimo in 1915 Church and the adjoining dwelling experienced new splendor and in 1976 they were completely renovated to house the order of the renewed minor Franciscan friars who will remain guests of the Colosso family even when the property has passed to the nephew and current owner. After the departure of the monastic order , and after a careful restructuring the Hermitage opens up to a new story.

Photo Gallery

Map

You have to enable cookies to view the map. Go to cookie policy page to enable cookies.

More Info

Fill in the following form to have more information about this property or to request an appointment to view it personally.